Customer reviews for FederalPremium AE5022

FederalPremium AE5022

American Eagle® 22 Long Rifle Solid
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for AE5022
Review 1 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent ammo

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Centerfire
fromSan Jose, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
I picked up a brick (500 rounds) the other day for use at the range today. I have a Browning Buckmark I purchased back in the early 90s that I put away for the last 12 years. Today's range visit I shot 150 rounds with no issues. I will definitely be buying these again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

why is there a shortage of this ammo

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
RALPHTCSLA
fromAbita springs, la
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
Just want to know why there is such a shortage of 222lr ammo that you have people hoarding it and reselling for twice the price. Just produce more and we are willing to pay a little more. Please help
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AE5022
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like the ammo

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Gunman9090
fromAlaska, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily
I shot out of my sand mp22 I had one missfire because I didn't put lube
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do not judge this book by cover!

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
JJ1022
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
I picked up some this 38gr hollow point and 40gr Round nose ammo at my local Academy store in the small 40 and 50rd box thinking it was rebranded federal reject ammo and only good for plinking cans. But, recently I did a shoot out of 20 different .22 brands and bullet types in both my 10/22 and cz bolt action at 50 and 100yds. Hundreds of round, hours of shooting and 3 trips the range later, all the group sizes measured and sorted on excel spreadsheet and much to my surprise these 2 bullets were always in the top 6 out of 20 bullet types. Usually 2nd-5th place consistently. It's cheap and is definatly on my buy list since the only rounds to beat them were 2-5 times the price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AE5022
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hates my p22

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Aya33
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
I bought this ammo with hesitation because of how many times I heard people describing problem with this ammo and their p22's; however a few others said they had no problems, so I decidided to try it for myself.. Mostly because I was running low on ammo, and these was all that was available. Its recommended to use 1200+ fps, 36+ grain cartridges with the p22, to ensure no firing failures of any kind. Having used cci blazer, and winchester m-22, both ~1260 fps, and 40 grain with no problems, I figured these federal rounds with the same specs as my other ammo shouldn't have any issues. Well there were.
Roughly 70% of what I fired had a fail to 'something' wether it be feed, eject, cycle, or fire at all. I shot 150 rounds, and 2 did not fire at all, and that was actually within the first 100. Out of my 15 magazine refills, I only got 2 opportunities to fire a complete mag without issue, which was just a lucky streak.
The ammunition is packaged nicely, I mean considering bulk is normally just loose in a carboard box, this defintely deserves the 1 star for packaging. It comes with 10 smaller boxes inside the outside package, each with their own little plastic ammo tray. Something I honestly wouldnt expect; even from the highest quality bulk packaging.
People often say you get what you pay for.. Well I paid for 500 rounds to function in my firearm, which to me includes cycling it properly, and so far its off to 1.33% of the product not even functioning by any stretch. one could argue that it did fire.. so yah I guess if you are using this ammo for a bolt action rifle, or a revolver, I suppose you can't go wrong #other than a ftf every now and then#. And other reviewers said it worked for their specific firearms, so there's that. But in my walther p22, it doesn't function properly enough to recommend it. meanwhile 525 rounds of cci blazer, and 400 rounds of winchester m-22 haven't had even 1 fail to anything.
1/5 star overall for functionality
5/5 on packaging tho, its really nice, no improvement needed there!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AE5022
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliable and accurate

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Mikko75
fromPori, Finland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
I bought all AE cartridges from one Finnish store what was closing store. Get them quite cheaply. Shot those AE:s about 2000 rounds last year and havent got any misfires. Accurate was also good. I used them in my Sako 94S, witch i mostly used hunting. Worked also quite nicely in my competition weapons Valmet M55 and CZ 453 Varmint with lot of improvements, but they are bit too powerful cartridges for competitions. Overall very good ammo.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best ever .22lr ammo

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
AmericanAmmoGod
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
when i go to the range i shoot 1" pieces of PVC pipe at 100 yards with this ammo. this ammo is very accurate in the rifle i use ( a jc higgins 103.18)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AE5022
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor performance in Walther P22

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
deadeyeverna
fromPennsylvania, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Weekly
Bought 3 bricks of these and cannot get the P22 to function 2 shots in a row. Tried them in my Barreta and had 3 jams in a gun that never jamed before. Tried other Federal, winchester, and CCI ammo in the P22 and no malfunctions at all. They are ok in any firearm that isn't a semi.so I gave them 2 stars. Now I have 1400 rounds to shoot up in anything but my semi's.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ammo for a really low price.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Ditto1958
fromLouisiana
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
I bought a 500 round box of this ammo and fired 100 rounds through a brand new 10/22 with zero misfires.
I also shot some CCI mini-mags and they were much, much noisier. I did not notice any difference in accuracy. The mini-mags were just louder, much more expensive and probably just a waste of money.
I would definitely buy this ammo again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Problem's

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Jonapd
fromCaaguazú District, Paraguay
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
I use these Cartridges mostly for target practice and haven't had any problems at all in a CBC 122
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No missfires-not even one!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Zebidee
fromCambridge, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
I've shot several thousand of these through my CZ 511 semi-auto and never had a single failure.They group well,are consistant and cheap at £26 ($41) per 500 so you can have an inexpensive plinking session.
Also,because they're not travelling excessivley fast noise is at a minimum too and less still when i screw the sound moderator (supressor) onto the rifle (im in UK where they're legal).
Definetly recomended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Plus!!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
blunsr
fromthe woods, alberta.
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily
i tried 14 different makes of ammunition in an "anschutz" and a "tula" both 22lr's. this stuff drastically outshone the rest! 1/4" groups at 50yds were a thing of the norm and i was #and still am# hitting a 4" gong at 180yds no problem!! impressive quality, period.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD STUFF!

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer avatar
hammerbite
fromOhio
Age:45 to 54
Usage frequency:Weekly
I bought a 500rd brick and have good results in both accuracy and reliability in my Remington 597.Used in both factory 10 rd mags and an aftermarket 30rd. No jams or misfires of any kind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AE5022
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exellent ammo

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer avatar
bor64
fromThe Netherlands
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily
I shoot 10 to 15k rounds of this AE 22lr in a year.
And I have no worries about this ammo at all.
It works fine in several of my guns and it's allways on target....and if not.... it's my fault lol
Rarely a dud, once in a blue moon,other brands I tried have several more....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AE5022
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work for me

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
CAShooter
fromOrange County, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
I have a Ruger 10/22 and a CZ .22 KADET. This load did not work well at all. Jams, FTE, failure to Feed, 2 Stovepipes, all in less than 50 rds.
I have used the Federal Bulk (745) and the Game Shok (810) and had 0 problems.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AE5022
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

misfires

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
dynodoug
fromPickerington, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
bought a bulk box of 500..averaged 1 misfire per
approx. 40 rounds...tried 3 different firearms,,same result..not so good
tried better grade of federals with good results..
must be the economy stuff that suffers the problems..
oh well,, u get what u pay for..as always..
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AE5022
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good buy for the money

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
1horseman
fromCisne Illinois
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
Useing in my rugar 10/22 consistant bullseyes at 50 yds no jamming or missfires use also in my rugar Mk3 22/45 with same results Love it!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AE5022
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor ammo/dangerous

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Jerry
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
Bought a 5000 rd. case from Surplus Ammo and was sorely dissapointed in the total lack of quality in the product. Have fired about 200 so far and spent the majority of my range time clearing jams and checking the barrel to see if the bullet has cleared the barrel. I am shooting a ruger 22/45 with 4.5 in. barrel. Problems range from duds to undered powered rounds, that I dont think would have cleared rifle barrel.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.