Customer reviews for FederalPremium PD380HS1H

FederalPremium PD380HS1H

Premium® Personal Defense® 380 Auto (9x17mm Short) Hydra-Shok® JHP
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for PD380HS1H
Review 1 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Abbagoochi
fromWest Virginia, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily
My Sig P238 functioned flawlessly, I was concerned from some of the other reviews saying their P238"s jammed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

# 1

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Ed59
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
From all, this is the # 1. Clean, the best of the best.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ammo will not Cycle

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
GeorgeSr
fromOrange Park, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
After having this ammo jam in my Sig 380, I opened the chamber and tried to insert a round directly into the Barrel and it wouldn't fit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good enough for a back up weapon

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
DirtyA
fromID
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
Ran 7 rounds through my Tuarus PT738 with no problems except on feeding the first round manually into the chamber. I had to tap the back of the slide to load. Other than that it cycled flawlessly in a weapon i have had problems with( 3 seperate counts of double feed w/different ammo. I suspect the magazine is the actual problem). Accuracy is the best i've yet cycled through this weapon, i attribute this to the manageable recoil in such a small weapon.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Walther PPK

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike100
fromBaltimore
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
The Walther PPK is notorious for mis-feeds so a reliable round is essential. I loaded the Cor-Bon 90 JHP and CCI-Speer 90 Gold Dot...both jammed. The Remington 102 Golden Saber fed reliably but the extra weight slows the round, but does provide a more manageable recoil.
It was the Federal 90 Hydra Shok that fed every time, has excellent muzzle velocity, and superb penetration.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
JamesC
fromMA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
I've only gone through one box so far, but have had no problems using it my S & W Bodyguard. It will be my ammo of choice for this gun.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feeds reliably and groups well

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Photon
fromColorado
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
The Hydra Shok feeds reliably in my Colt Mustang. I have no trouble shooting a 4" group at 7 yards from a combat stance even with this tiny gun.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bersa loves it.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
MOG101st
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
The .380 Bersa Thunder is known to accept most anything. I was concerned about the hollow point configuration. No problems. Fed and fired. Pistol and ammo worked together to hit point of aim out to 25 yards. Some pistols are finicky about ammo. Does not mean the pistol/ammo is defective.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best choice

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike100
fromBaltimore County, MD
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
Concerned with using a new Walther PPK/S for personal defense, I tested four rounds. Cor-Bon 90 gr JHP (regular feed failure), Speer 90 gr Gold Dot (regular feed failure), Remington 102 gr Golden Saber (reliable but too slow for my liking), and the Federal Hydra-Shok (not one feeding failure). Solving the reliability issue, I am delighted with the muzzle velocity and ft/lbs. This round is my choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good ammo

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Mastercapt
fromOrlando, FL, USA area
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Using a Colt Mustang 380. 1 in the hole, 6 in the mag. No problems.
Tested by shooting gallon milk jugs filled with water. Expands reliably
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fail to Feed in Sig P238

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
John91
fromClermont, FL
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
I really hoped these bullets would work well with all the praise they get, along with their easy accessibility at Walmart, but like a couple other reviewers have pointed out they fail to feed properly on the first round out of the magazine. Once the the jam is cleared the rest of the magazine cycles fine, but in a critical defense situation there's no time to be re-chambering a round. I put 100 rounds of FMJ target rounds through without a problem, as well as a box of another popular defensive load with no issues. I have to assume it's the very blunt tip of the hollow point snagging on the feed ramp, so I'll be sticking with another defensive load for now that I feel confident with.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Less than reliable

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Deltahawk
fromLandenberg, New Garden, PA 19350, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
The Hydro Shok JHP feeds reliably in my Sig P232, but jams in my PPK and Sig P238, usually when trying to feed the 2nd round. The cause seems to be in the shape of the bullet tip. The bullet tip would snag during feeding and may benefit from a more streamlined shape.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flawless

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
DRich
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
Flawless function with 60 rounds through my Seecamp. Two different lot numbers, same results. Recommend saving a magazine full +1 for carry and shooting the remaining rounds from a box for function check in your firearm.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hollow point bullets jam when feeding from magazine

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
eddie1
fromWhite Bear Lake, MN, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Daily
My LCP38 RUGER won't feed your ammunition without jaming. I've ground down the sharp nose and it helps the feeding. I can't take the chance with your ammunition jaming if I really need to defend myself. If you solve this problem I might try you ammunition again. The problem could be in the Ruger design.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for newer weapons!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
JCPSA
fromTexas (south America!)
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Monthly
Good penetration, nice for suppressed weapons. Older military weapons may need a different spring as these were not designed for field use. Very happy! I will post videos of rounds pushed through a PPK/S with a titanium supressor as soon as possible. Federal is the choice for LEO.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer avatar
jonp
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Usage frequency:Weekly
Use in my LCP. Low recoil with adequate penetration and energy. Never a failure. Great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
36of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Em'

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
gprov
fromWest Virginia
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Love the Hydra's! I've used them in my Ruger LCP, Bersa Thunder, and Tarus TCP. Never a failure of any kind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+34points
39of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PD380HS1H
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not impressed

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
notimpressedatall
fromHomer, AK, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Tried the .380 Hydra-Shok out in my Mauser pistol. Cartridges would not ramp up without playing with the slide and manually feeding, and would not cycle after the first shot. This from a pistol that has never jamed or failed to cycle, and still works with all other ammo tried.
When "EVERY SHOT COUNTS", I would expect more from "THE MOST TECHNOLOGICALLY ADVANCED AMMO AVAILABLE"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
46of 94voted this as helpful.